Letter #5 – Transcript – 2 July 1795

#5 Addressed to Mr. Henry Hirst, Heptonstall near Halifax, Yorkshire, South Britain [Marked 2/6]

Hirst Letter #5 – 2 July 1795 – Detail. Private Collection

Rouen 2nd July 1795

Honoured Father & Mother

I have once more the opportunity of writing to you hoping this will find you in good health as I am at present, thanks be to the Almighty for it, I cannot give you any particulars of France, as I am Obliged to send this Letter unsealed,

Hirst Letter #5 – 2 July 1795 – Page 1. Private Collection

by Favour of Captain Cook of our Regiment who is coming home in two days time, I would not have you be any way uneasy on my Account as I have been well of [sic] as a Prisoner of War can expect.

I would not have you be any way uneasy on my Account as I have been well of [sic] as a Prisoner of War can expect.

William Hirst – 2 July 1795

I have always had Work, except about two months at first after we was taken. I am with Lord Darbouville at Present, Victualling in the house, etc., we all live in hopes of returning to our Native Country very soon, but God Almighty only knows the time,

Hirst Letter #5 – 2 July 1795 – Page 2. Private Collection

please shew this to my Wife & Child & I hope they are both in good health, and I hope I shall soon be with them again to live together,

please shew this to my Wife & Child & I hope they are both in good health, and I hope I shall soon be with them again to live together

William Hirst – 2 July 1795

as it is all my Study at present give my love to my Brothers and Sisters and all inquiring Friends, you need not write to me as it will not come to hand, Ely Marsland & George Sutcliffe is in this Town both well, I see Joseph Fearnly of Clifton about two Months ago who gave me the information that you was all well, so I conclude with great concern & remain your Dutifull Son

                                                                                    Wm Hirst

Hirst Letter #5 – 2 July 1795 – Signature. Private Collection

One thought on “Letter #5 – Transcript – 2 July 1795

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Gilliandr's Blog

Random Historical, Social and Cultural Moments

The Midleton Archaeology & Heritage Project

Exploring the Heritage of Midleton– Posts by Damian Shiels

fox lake history project

Sharing stories of Fox Lake, the land and its people

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started