Letter #11 – Transcript – 16 September 1797

#11 Addressed to Mr. Henry Hirst, Heptonstalll near Halifax, Yorkshire, South Britain

Gibraltar 16th September 1797

Honoured Father & Mother

I once more have the opportunity of writing to you, hoping this will find you in good health as this leaves me at present thanks be to the Almighty for it, I would have writ to you sooner but find no conveniance of sending off the Letter without being of great expense to you,

Hirst Letter #11 – 16 September 1797 – Page 1. Private Collection

you mentioned in your last letter that you thought I might save money here, but I do assure you that this is the worst place that a soldier can lay except for a man that has a wife with him, and he that has may save money without end,

I do assure you that this is the worst place that a soldier can lay except for a man that has a wife with him, and he that has may save money without end

William Hirst – 16 September 1797

for the people that have wives with them take Houses in Town and sells different articles, and saves Money very fast, but a Man that has no wife has not the least privilege allowed him but it Obliged to stay in the Barracks and our pay here is 4 ½ d. per day Sterling Money and every thing so very dear that it is impossible to get any thing but what is allowed by government,

Hirst Letter #11 – 16 September 1797 – Page 2. Private Collection

but I hope the war will soon be at an end, and then I hope I shall be done with the Army, for I am tired of it more and more every day you will excuse me at present for the Ship was just going to sail when I writ this, give my kind respects to my Wife and Child, Brothers & Sisters & all inquiring friends, and write to me as soon as possible and give me a particular account of what they are all doing, the last letter I received from you was dated 8th Septr. 96 & I only received it on the 12th of March 97.

the last letter I received from you was dated 8th Septr. 96 & I only received it on the 12th of March 97

William Hirst – 16 September 1797

I conclude and remain your dutifull Son

Wm. Hirst

Hirst Letter #11 – 16 September 1797 – Detail. Private Collection

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Gilliandr's Blog

Random Historical, Social and Cultural Moments

The Midleton Archaeology & Heritage Project

Exploring the Heritage of Midleton– Posts by Damian Shiels

fox lake history project

Sharing stories of Fox Lake, the land and its people

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started