The Final Letter – #13 – Transcript – 24 July 1798

#13 Addressed to Mr. Henry Hirst, Grocer, Heptonstalll, Halifax, Yorkshire, South Britain

Gibraltar 24th July 1798

Honor’d Father & Mother

I once more take the opportunity of writing to you but with great concern I do assure you, for I have writ to you several times and can never receive any answer to my letters, what is the reason I cannot tell, but

I suspect that the Packetts* are stopped

William Hirst – 24 July 1798

as there as been very few letters for the Garrison this some time back,

Hirst Letter #13 – 24 July 1798 – Page 1. Private Collection

I here [sic] by flying stories that the three Kingdoms at present are in great confusion but for truth I cannot say, as we have no News here that we can depend of, therefore I hope you will not fail me in writing and give me all the News you can, and let me know in what situation you are in, likewise my Brothers & Sisters, Wife & Child,

Hirst Letter #13 – 24 July 1798 – Page 2. Private Collection

I hope this will find you & them in good health as it leaves me at present thanks be to the Almighty for it,

please shew my wife this and desire her whatever she does if possible to get the Child good education

William Hirst – 24 July 1798

which will be a happy hearing to me, as I hope once more to meet with her never to part til death, excuse me at present so I conclude and remain your dutifull Son

Wm. Hirst

NB. Please direct as usual in Captain Thompsons Company

Hirst Letter #13 – 24 July 1798 – Detail. Private Collection

Featured photo – “A Packet Boat Under Sail in a Breeze off the South Foreland,” Thomas Luny, 1780, Yale Center for British Art. From the blog “British Tars, 1740-1790” https://www.britishtars.com/

*”A “packet ship” was originally a vessel employed to carry post office mail packets to and from British embassies, colonies and outposts. In sea transport, a packet service is a regular, scheduled service, carrying freight and passengers. The ships used for this service are called packet ships or packet boats.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Packet_trade . William Hirst just calls them “the Packetts”.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Gilliandr's Blog

Random Historical, Social and Cultural Moments

The Midleton Archaeology & Heritage Project

Exploring the Heritage of Midleton– Posts by Damian Shiels

fox lake history project

Sharing stories of Fox Lake, the land and its people

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started