Letter #10 – Transcript – 7 September 1796

#10  Addressed to Mr. Henry Hirst, Grocer, Heptonstalll near Halifax, Yorkshire, South Britain

Gibraltar 7th Septr. 1796

Honoured Father & Mother

I once more have the opportunity of writing to you, hoping this will find you in good health as this leaves me at present thanks be to the Almighty for it, I am sorry that I have not received a letter from you since my arrival here,

Hirst Letter #10 – 7 September 1796 – Page 1. Private Collection

I writ to you three times since I embarked at Portsmouth requesting a favour from you which you had the intelligence of before, & I hope you will comply with it if possible, as my situation is very disagreeable with me and always was since I joined the Regt.,

my situation is very disagreeable with me and always was since I joined the Regt.

William Hirst – 7 September 1796

I hope you will write to me as soon as possible and let me know whether you will Comply with my request, if not I shall know what to depend upon, please give my love to my Wife and Child, Brothers & Sisters & all inquiring Friends, and you may depend if I once get free from the Army that it will be means of my doing well afterwards,

Hirst Letter #10 – 7 September 1796 – Page 2. Private Collection

in my last letters I told you how my discharged [sic] would be procured at a little expense by applying to Mr. Yonge Secretary at War, War Office, London, if you only get a friend to write for you,

my discharged [sic] would be procured at a little expense by applying to Mr. Yonge Secretary at War, War Office, London, if you only get a friend to write for you

William Hirst – 7 September 1796

which I hope you will do, direct for me in Capt. Thompson’s Company 37th Regiment Gibraltar, so I conclude and remain your dutifull Son

Wm. Hirst

Hirst Letter #10 – 7 September 1796 – Detail. Private Collection

One thought on “Letter #10 – Transcript – 7 September 1796

Add yours

  1. oh my! poor Willy: we use the word “precarious” now to describe the gig economy, but his situation was precarious in a way none of us could likely imagine now: no wonder that he thanks the Almighty every time he wakes up alive! As for the family: will end of them believe his promises of “doing well”? Has his wife remained faithful—she needs support after all. That late Medieval tale _The Return of Martin Guerre_ flashed through my mind…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Gilliandr's Blog

Random Historical, Social and Cultural Moments

The Midleton Archaeology & Heritage Project

Exploring the Heritage of Midleton– Posts by Damian Shiels

fox lake history project

Sharing stories of Fox Lake, the land and its people

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started