Letter #12 – Transcript – 4 February 1798

#12 Addressed to Mr. Henry Hirst, Heptonstalll, Halifax, Yorkshire [Single Sheet]

Gibraltar 4th February 1798

Honoured Father & Mother

I once more have the opportunity of Writing to you, hoping this will find you in good health as this leaves me at present thanks be to the Almighty for it, I never received a Letter (altho’ writing so often) from you since last March, which leads me to believe that something extraordinary has happened,

Hirst Letter #12 – 4 February 1798 – Page 1. Private Collection

but there is one thing to be said, that if Land Postage is not paid to London I can never receive a letter therefore I hope you will write by return of Post and give me all the News you possibly can, for I can hear none here, please give me a particular account how my Wife & Child, & Brothers & Sisters are coming on. I long so very much to be amongst them

please give me a particular account how my Wife & Child, & Brothers & Sisters are coming on. I long so very much to be amongst them

William Hirst – 4 February 1798

but am afraid it will be some time before, as we seemingly are Stationed here, it has been long talked of Peace here between the French and us but I am afraid without foundation

Hirst Letter #12 – 4 February 1798 – Page 2. Private Collection

since I writ to you last I have had the misfortune to have my Watch Stole from me which I suffered so long in france for

I have had the misfortune to have my Watch Stole from me which I suffered so long in france for

William Hirst – 4 February 1798

the money that purchased it, do not fail writing & direct for me in Capt. Thompsons 37th Regt. so I conclude and remain your dutifull Son

Wm. Hirst

NB Let me know how they are going on at Greens Spruts, & what has happened in the Family ___.

Hirst Letter #12 – 4 February 1798 – Detail. Private Collection

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Gilliandr's Blog

Random Historical, Social and Cultural Moments

The Midleton Archaeology & Heritage Project

Exploring the Heritage of Midleton– Posts by Damian Shiels

fox lake history project

Sharing stories of Fox Lake, the land and its people

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started